I’ve been on a DONUT bender!! These are a MUST TRY! Gluten-Free, Baked Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts…and more

Seriously, this is no exaggeration.  I have been popping out dozen after dozen for a week now.  My husband and my waistline are begging me to stop!!  No surprise that our little girls aren’t complaining 🙂

image

You see, since we’ve become a Gluten-Free household I’ve had a “bucket list” of items that I had to conquer.  And by conquer I mean, I had to find a recipe that was as good, if not better, than the old gluten standby.  I will not lie, in the beginning, I didn’t think it possible, but let me tell you just how wrong I was…REALLY, REALLY WRONG!!  A few things on that bucket list…Flour tortillasChocolate Chip Cookies, Bread, Cupcakes and, yes, DONUTS!  

image

These are sooooo good!  Now these bad boys are baked and not fried, but yet somehow still fill that fried, crispy, soft, light, doughy void of loveliness.  I could only imagine if one were to fry them (wink, wink), just how much more decadent they would be!

Just to illustrate how bad (and by bad I mean good!) it’s been, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

Baked gluten free donut

Baked gluten free donut fresh out of the oven!

Vanilla Glazed gluten free donut

2 different recipes: Vanilla Glazed

Gluten Free donuts...Awesome!

Cinnamon Sugar

Chocolate Glazed gluten free donut

Chocolate Glazed Cake Donut

Peanut Butter Frosted

My “final” recipe came about by combining two exceptional recipes from PrairieHive & SmashedPeasAndCarrots.  And it wouldn’t be complete without a slightly adapted version of Nicole Hunn’s, Better than Cup 4 Cup Flour

Oh, and if you haven’t already invested the $10 or so that a donut pan costs…please, stop what you are doing and run to your local store and buy one.  I suppose, if you can wait, you could also buy one at Amazon.

BAKED GLUTEN FREE DONUTS

Ingredients:   Yields between 7-9 donuts (random, I know, but due to combining the recipes)

1 cup Gluten Free flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp butter
1/3 cup milk
2 Tbsp plain Greek yogurt (full fat is what I recommend)

Note: Each donut has approx. 30 grams of carbs

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray your donut pan liberally with cooking spray.  You know the drill…mix all dry ingredients, in seperate bowl, mix all wet ingredients.  Add the two together and stir well until combined.

image

Now, if you would like you could use a pastry bag or a plastic bag with the tip cut off to pipe the batter into each donut ring, or simply use a spoon and a finger to smooth the needed amount into each.  Fill each donut ring to a little more than half full.

image

 Bake for 7-10 minutes or until light golden brown around edges.  Let cool for 5-10 minutes in pan then turn onto a cooling rack.

image

image

Side by side comparison of the two recipes I combined…both so good!

So now what?  You have these beautiful fluffy, warm donuts beckoning you to eat them…but what about the glaze, sugar or frosting??  Well, if you are like me, you should probably just eat one right away…for quality control.

My simple and personal favorite, Cinnamon-Sugar!  Take a plastic bag and fill with your desired amount of sugar and cinnamon.  Place one donut at a time in bag and shake, shake, shake…viola!

Here is also a very simple and light vanilla glaze from PrairieHive:

Vanilla Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Wisk all ingredients together and dip donuts.

Peanut Butter Glaze/Frosting  by Shutterbean

  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons salted butter
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar (I greatly reduced the sugar to keep carbs down)
  • hot water (I used milk)

Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium heat until browned and smelling nutty (be careful not to burn)!  Add peanut butter and powdered sugar and wisk together.  Add water (or milk) until desired consistency.  Let cool slightly and dip donuts.

Please do share your favorite donut recipe and/or topping.  I’m all ears!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

4 responses to “I’ve been on a DONUT bender!! These are a MUST TRY! Gluten-Free, Baked Cinnamon-Sugar Donuts…and more”

  1. Jess says :

    These look FANTASTIC!!! I can’t wait to try them out!!!

  2. gfandme says :

    These look great! Have to get me a donut pan!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Some Foods Contain a Shocking Amount of Sugar | eJo - February 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

