EASY Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes (Light & Fluffy)…God Bless Sundays!

Gluten-Free buckwheat pancakes

Gluten-Free buckwheat pancakes

We LOVE our pancakes!  And without fail, every weekend I will whip up a batch (always doubling the recipe for a quick and easy breakfast during the week).  Simply let the un-eaten pancakes cool completely and place in a bag or container and freeze until needed.  Microwave for about 20-45 seconds or toast on low.  The girls are thrilled and I save 15 minutes of prep time in the morning…everyone wins!!

Don’t let the “healthy” look of these pancakes fool you!  They are extremely light and fluffy
and full of that true pancake flavor.  

I have tried A LOT of different pancake recipes…a lot.  Box recipes, scratch recipes, just wing-it recipes…and so on.

Lots of failures and, well, a good amount of success.  These pancakes are amazingly spongy and light, reminding me of those super fluffy pancakes my Pop would undoubtly make anytime family or friends came to stay at the house.  I decided early in the game that I would not rely on a box recipe for several reasons.  First being that, quite simply, I knew if I made it from scratch, I could make it for a lot less (sort of the premise for my blog)!  Secondly, with my daughter being diabetic in addition to being Celiac, I am always looking for ways to cut carbs when possible.  I am always shocked when I compare the amount of carbs in a box recipe, be it bread, pancakes, cookies, pizza crust, etc, to the results when I make it from scratch.  What a difference!

Let me give you an example.  Bisquck’s Gluten-Free Pancake Mix will yield one 4″ pancake that contains approx. 30 grams of carbs.  That same size pancake when made with this delicious recipe will contain approx. 11 grams of carbs!  She can eat 3 times as much 🙂  Now, I should mention, that Bisquick does make a tasty Gluten Free pancake but the cost and health benefits of my scratch pancakes far outweighs using that handy box.

The best part…there is only one Gluten-Free flour needed for the recipe!  No tedious mixing of numerous different flours.  Buckwheat flour is all you need (and yes, contrary to the name, Buckwheat is gluten-free, just be sure it is labeled GF as it may be made in a factory with other gluten-containing products!)

EASY Gluten- Free BUCKWHEAT PANCAKES

Ingredients:  Yields approx 12-15 pancakes
1 cup buckwheat flour
2 Tbsp Agave syrup (don’t have Agave, sub 2 Tbsp brown sugar)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
1 Tbsp butter, melted

Heat a large griddle pan over med heat.  In large bowl add all dry ingredients and mix well.  In small bowl combine all wet ingredients and whisk well.   Add the wet ingredients into dry ingredients just until incorporated.  Batter is usually thick, add milk if you wish to thin out pancakes a bit.  Coat griddle with cooking spray and/or butter.  Pour desired size onto griddle.  Turn when bubbles start to form, flip and cook another minute or so.

Great Idea:  Make mini Maple pancakes by adding 1/4 to 1/2 cup of your favorite syrup or sweetener.  You will want to reduce the milk by 1/4 to 1/2 cup as well.  Your kids can take them on the go!  No need for messy syrup…it’s already in there!  Try variations like adding smashed ripe bananas, applesauce or pumpkin puree. 

Note: Each 4″ pancake contains approx 11 grams of carbs.

Have  a great GF Pancake recipe?  I am all ears! 🙂  Please share in comments.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

2 responses to “EASY Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes (Light & Fluffy)…God Bless Sundays!”

  1. Michelle says :

    Ok, another tasty looking recipe to try. I have not been a big fan of buck wheat as I was on a carb reduced diet at one time and tried these. I will again give them a whirl. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

