EASY ‘Gluten-Free’ Chewy Chocolate, Almond & Cranberry Granola Bars

Super yummy and chewy Gluten Free granola bars

Super yummy and chewy Gluten Free granola bars

My girls love these!  These super chewy and wholesome granola bars are something you can feel good about packing in your kid’s lunchbox.  Did I mention they are super quick and easy to make…you only need 1 bowl!  I stumbled upon this recipe years ago from ThreeManyCooks on a newspaper insert.  I tweaked it to make it Gluten-Free and reduced the sugar but the results are just as tasty!  I also add flax seed to mine, which gives you that additional boost in fiber.  You can get as creative as you want with the add-ins…I do use chocolate chips, because, let’s face it…when a kid sees chocolate they just assume “treat” and not “this is how I fool you into eating good stuff”! 

Chewy Chocolate, Almond & Cranberry Granola Bars

Ingredients:  Yields approx. 12-14 bars

2 cups rolled oats (certified gluten free…I use Bob’s Red Mill)

1/4 cup rolled oats (that have been finely ground in the food processor)

1/4 cup flax seed meal

1 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup chocolate chips or chunks

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/2 can (7 oz.) sweetened condensed milk

3 Tbsp agave syrup

Each bar (1/12 of recipe) equals approx. 38 grams of carbs.  I usually cut them in half again for my daughters making them 19 grams each. 

Note: If you want to omit the flax seed, use 1/2 cup of finely ground rolled oats.  Get creative!  Use walnuts, dried cherries, apricots or blueberries.  Take out the chocolate and add coconut flakes…or, heck, just leave the chocolate!

imagePreheat oven to 325 degrees.  Grease a 9″ square pan liberally, or for even easier removal, line with parchment paper and spray lightly with cooking spray.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and pat into the pan.  I will tear a piece of parchment paper and use that to press the granola mix evenly and firmly into the pan.  Bake for about 25-30 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Let pan cool completely.  You can pop it in the freezer (once it’s cooled!) to make it easier to cut.  These will last about a week in an air tight container on the counter, or, my prefered method is to freeze them.  They actually taste great right out of the freezer, but will thaw by lunch time for you or the kids.

Quick & Easy Gluten Free Granola Bars

Quick & Easy Gluten Free Granola Bars

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

4 responses to “EASY ‘Gluten-Free’ Chewy Chocolate, Almond & Cranberry Granola Bars”

  1. Michelle says :

    I will try these over the holidays. They look yummy! Where do I find the agave syrup? Must I grind the oats?

    • glutenfreebudgetguru says :

      Agave syrup is available is most grocery stores now-a-days (most likely in the same isle with baking needs). I love it for my daughter because it doesn’t spike her blood sugar levels like honey, syrup or regular sugar. As for the oats…I haven’t try the recipe without either flax seed or ground oats. The recipe calls for wheat germ (which is obviously not gluten free), hence the substitution. In my opinion I think it helps to hold the bars together better, but give it a whirl and be sure to report back to let me know how it turns out! Thanks 🙂

  2. Dana @ Celiac Kiddo says :

    YUM, I’m making these asap! I am kind of granola bar addict 🙂 The homemade kind, I mean.

Leave a Reply

