Incredibly Quick & Easy Seasoned Chicken–NO Need to Marinate!

I’m a firm believer that meat of any kind taste best when its had time to marinate in, well, anything….even if it’s just some salt, pepper and olive oil.  That theory has since been put to rest!  When I read the book Idiot’s Guide to Gluten Free Cooking I found a recipe that required only a few ingredients, a hot skillet and about 15 minutes.  To good to be true…perhaps, but I was gonna give it a try.  Who knew!  You can have fabulous, seasoned and tender chicken in minutes, without the marinade!

Tender, delicious Chicken in minutes!

Tender, delicious Chicken in minutes!

I love this recipe for so many reasons.  Most importantly the fact that it’s so unbelievably quick and easy to prepare on those days when “what am I going to make for dinner” didn’t make itself into the forefront of my brain until 6pm.  Not to mention it’s so versatile.  I always make more than enough, so lunches for the next few days are a breeze!  For me, I throw the chicken on top of a fresh salad, for the girls…chicken and rice, chicken and pasta, chicken salad, chicken tacos…and so on.  My particular seasoning I used for this batch was Lemon-Pepper with a little Chili Powder for a kick (I’ve been finding ways to incorporate this into a lot of my cooking lately), but try your own concoctions (i.e. simple salt and pepper, lime juice and fajita seasoning, a mix of Italian seasonings, etc)

LEMON-PEPPER CHICKEN IN MINUTES

Ingredients:

2 1/2 lbs Chicken  breast (if they are thick you may want to slice in half to allow for more even cooking)
4 Tbsp lemon juice, or approx the juice of 2 big lemons
2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp chili powder (optional)
1/2-3/4 cup chicken stock

Note:  I make my own chicken stock, but if you buy yours from the store, check that it’s Gluten Free

Heat a large skillet over med to med-high heat.  In a small bowl combine the lemon juice, salt, pepper and chili powder.  Mix well.

image

Brush the mixture over the chicken until coated on both sides.  Once pan is hot add 1/4 cup chicken stock.

image

When chicken stock comes to a boil add chicken and cook for approx 5 minutes or until you start to see the bottom of chicken turning white.

image

 Turn chicken, add remaining chicken stock and cover for another 5-8 minutes.  Remove one piece of chicken and cut down middle to check for done-ness.  There should be no pink remaining.

Your chicken is ready to enjoy!!

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

Leave a Reply

