Moist Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cake & Cupcakes! My lifesaver…

image

Mouth-watering Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cake

In the month of September I had 9 birthdays in my classroom (I’m a teacher at a childcare center).  That equates to A LOT of cupcakes!  What’s bittersweet is that I have my own 4 year-old in my class who happens to have Celiac and Type 1 Diabetes.  I say bittersweet because I am so blessed to be able to stay on top of her Diabetes, not to mention I get to see that beautiful face everyday…ALL day…Every.  Single.  Day…wait where was I…?

When she dips low I am there with my fistful of jelly beans and if she is running high for whatever reason, I can administer a quick correction without skipping a beat.  After lunch I meticulously count up her nicely labeled carbs from her packed lunch and poke her with the appropriate amount of insulin.  She has come to accept that she can’t have certain foods and that she requires a shot before or after every meal and before bedtime, but to see her face when her friends are handing out that sugary, Gluten-filled treat is almost more than I can bare!  To avoid this I usually bring in a “special” Gluten-Free treat for her to take her mind off of the rainbow colored frosting or the cute ring that adorns what seems like all store bought cupcakes now-a-days.  Sometimes I am successful, but there are the other occasions when no matter how tasty the alternative, it’s still not a CUPCAKE!  Honestly, I almost cried one time when a classmate offered her one.  She shook her head no and told her she couldn’t have it.  Her eyes started to well up with tears and she looked longingly as her friend moved on to the next classmate who eagerly accepted.  In that one moment I knew that nothing else would do…I had to make Gluten-Free Diabetic cupcakes that she too could enjoy with the rest of her friends!…..TA-DA!

Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cupcakes

Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cupcakes

image

The Lifesaver…Elena’s Gluten-Free Cupcake!!

This recipe has been more than just my Lifesaver, it’s also what my husband requested for his birthday cake.  When asked what he wanted, his response…”chocolate & chocolate”!  Done and done.  Now I will tell you that the frosting in the picture is a Chocolate Buttercream that I made from scratch thanks to the Barefoot Contessa, http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/chocolate-buttercream-frosting-recipe/index.html.  Was my husband worth it…absolutely!   Will I make it again…unlikely!  It looked like a chocolate bomb went off in my kitchen, and dropping butter in a mixer 1 tablespoon at a time, and there are 24 tablespoons in the recipe (yes…that many)!…not exactly my quick and easy kind of approach.  For what it’s worth though…it was divine 🙂

I also “literally” whipped up this Whipped Cream Frosting in no time and it added almost nothing to the total carb count!  It was light, delicious and just sweet enough!  http://www.joyofbaking.com/WhippedCreamFrosting.html

**Oh, and to the other parents of a Gluten-Free child that have to deal with endless birthday/social events at school that involve sugary, Glutenous snacks…Make a dozen of these, place them in the freezer until firm, top with icing of your choice, place in freezer again so icing can set, then wrap them individually and place in a container or Ziploc bag.  If school allows, leave them at school in a freezer to be taken out (one at a time) the morning of “said” event or simply put one in your child’s backpack or lunchbox.  By the time the party rolls around it should be defrosted.  Crisis averted and no long faces!

Moist Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cake/Cupcakes

Ingredients:   Yields 2 dozen (24) cupcakes

3 cups Gluten-Free Flour Mix  (1 1/2 c brown rice flour, 1 cup tapioca starch, 1/2 cup potato starch)

1 cup Cocoa unsweetened

1 cup sugar

1 cup sugar substitute (or the equivalent) I used Splenda

1 tsp salt

4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp oil

2 Tbsp white vinegar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup water

1/2 cup applesauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In medium sized bowl combine all dry ingredients and whisk together.  Add in all wet ingredients and blend well for a few minutes.  Pour into a greased 13″x9″ pan or two 8″ cake pans or muffin pans.  The cakes take about 20-25 minutes while the cupcakes take 14-18 minutes.  Insert toothpick and when it comes out clean…Done!!

Note: If you are not diabetic or trying to watch your sugar intake, by all means use 2 cups sugar instead of the sugar substitute.  

Each (un-iced) cupcake is approx 26 grams of carbohydrates.  

Gluten-Free Chocolate cupcakes w/ Whipped Cream Frosting!

Gluten-Free Chocolate cupcakes w/ Whipped Cream Frosting!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

2 responses to “Moist Gluten-Free Chocolate Scratch Cake & Cupcakes! My lifesaver…”

  1. diabeticcyclist says :

    This is possibly a diabetics best dream coming true on a computer screen. What a delish dish…

  2. cindyhluu says :

    Looks absolutely delectable! I will be trying this recipe for the upcoming holiday season 🙂

Leave a Reply

