AMAZING Gluten-Free Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

image

After Elena’s diagnosis, my first knee-jerk reaction was to find a Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe I could master.  Sounds totally backwards, right?  She now has Juvenile Diabetes and possibly Celiac Disease (it had not been confirmed at that point).  So why cookies??….because she’s a 3 year-old KID, that’s why!!  My sadness and warped feelings of guilt made me wonder if she could ever really feel like a kid again.  With that one prick of her finger her entire childhood innocence was gone!  I needed to be able to make her feel otherwise.

imageChocolate chip cookies, the natural choice, at least for me.  Since we were still in transition from our move, we spent the first month and a half with my parents (and what a blessing that was)!  They amusingly watched me spend hours slaving away, recipe after recipe, but nothing was quite right.  The taste was there,  but they would crumble to the touch and you needed a half gallon of milk just to get them down.  Then I managed to get the texture how I wanted it but the taste was off.  Eight months later and I’ve got it!  Delicious Chewy Gluten-Free, Diabetic Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Sounds like an oxymoron, but it’s true!  They are sooooooo good that I am forced to freeze them soon after baking them just to keep from eating the entire batch.  I took them to a get together the other day and they LOVED them…none the wiser.  I took them to my job and passed them out…they wanted MORE!  Seriously, you have got to try them…after all, I did spend eight months fine tuning the recipe!

image

I added M&M’s to this batch…Yum!

THE BEST Gluten-Free Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:   Makes 3 dozen cookies

2 1/4 cup of my Gluten Free flour blend*

1 stick butter, softened

1/4 cup applesauce

1/3 cup Splenda brown sugar blend

1/4 cup honey

1 1/4 tsp Xanthan Gum

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 to 2 cups chocolate chips (I use only 1 cup for diabetic reasons and the carb ratio reflects that)

*Gluten-free flour blend–1/2 cup oat flour, 1/2 cup brown rice flour, 1/2 cup coconut flour, 1/2 cup tapioca flour, 1/4 cup cornstarch.

Each cookie has only 13 grams of carbohydrates

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  I line my cookie sheets with parchment paper but that is optional.  Cream the butter, honey, applesauce and brown sugar in a large bowl with a mixer for about 2 minutes.  Add vanilla and egg and mix together for another 2 minutes.

image

In another medium sized bowl, whisk together the Gluten-Free flour blend, xanthan gum, baking soda and salt.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.  Stirring or mixing well after adding.  Fold in the chocolate chips and drop a large tablespoon at a time onto the cookie sheet (a dozen per baking sheet). Bake for 7-9 minutes until golden brown.

image

image

Absolutely the BEST Chocolate Chip Cookies I’ve ever had!!!

Enjoy!!!  I know I do…

Got great variations or additions?  I’d love to hear them!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

2 responses to “AMAZING Gluten-Free Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. diabeticcyclist says :

    Great recipe and great display of love for your child. I have three girls and I know what you face. Thankfully, I’m the one with Type 1 Diabetes, not them. I can’t imagine facing that as a parent. Good work though and keep loving them as the kids that they are:)

    • glutenfreebudgetguru says :

      Thank you for the kind words! My daughter never ceases to amaze me and reminds me daily how to take all things in stride 🙂 I will be checking in with your website and I hope you will re-visit for some great diabetic-friendly recipes!
      Jen

Leave a Reply

