Gluten-Free Crisp Apple Waldorf Salad

100_2351

What better way to use those apples that are literally breaking the branches off those apples trees!  Put them in this delicious and hearty Crisp Waldorf Salad.  This salad can wear many hats…this is my tasty version!

Gluten-Free Crisp Waldorf Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups packed Mixed greens

1/2 of Granny Smith Apple, thinly sliced (I prefer the tartness of Granny Smith for this salad)

3 Tbsp Gorgonzola or Blue Cheese crumbles

2 Tbsp Dried Cranberries

2 Tbsp Toasted Walnuts

Assemble all ingredients on a plate and dress with the following…

Gluten-Free Raspberry Vinaigrette (my simple homemade version)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup good Balsamic Vinegar

1/3 cup good Olive Oil

1-2 Tbsp of your favorite jam or preserves (I prefer Raspberry, but any fruit would be good)

1/2 of a fresh squeezed lemon

salt and pepper to taste

Shake well and serve  

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About glutenfreebudgetguru

Gluten-Free, Diabetic, Kid-Approved Recipes that are not only delicious but more importantly...Budget Friendly!!!

2 responses to “Gluten-Free Crisp Apple Waldorf Salad”

  1. Cyndy Clarke says :

    I love a salad like this. I assume you could add tune or salmon for some protein. How do you get the kids to eat these dishes?

    • glutenfreebudgetguru says :

      Great questions! First the proteins-yes! Salmon & tuna would both be good but my go-to is a grilled chicken breast for this salad. I have a Greek salad with Blackened Salmon I will be posting, yum!
      Now about the kiddos, haha. I have to admit not EVERY recipe I post will be embraced by all kids (especially the salads) ;)! However, there are creative ways to incorporate greens into their diet. My daugter’s like them hidden in a yummy sandwich or wrap. But my BEST secret…I take a bunch of greens (I usually use mixed greens or spinach), place them in a blender or food processor with some canola oil and a few tablespoons of water. Blend until its pourable, adding some more oil or water if need be. Freeze in an ice cube tray. After frozen transfer the cubes to a Ziploc bag and keep on hand in freezer. Add one cube to things like Mac ‘N Cheese, pasta sauce, cream-based soups or sauces, etc. They get all the extra vitamins and minerals and you feel like an evil genius!! Sure it may change the color a little, but that’s even cooler to them. Hope that helps! Thanks for the comment!
      Jen

Leave a Reply

